Skip to content

FotoFest 2018 Biennial

1. What is the International Meeting Place Portfolio Review?
2. Where is the Meeting Place held?
3. What are the dates of the Meeting Place?
4. What happens on the days between sessions?
5. Who is eligible to register for the Meeting Place Portfolio Review?
6. When can I register for the Meeting Place Portfolio Review?
7. How many sessions can I register for?
8. What happens after July 31, 2017?
9. What if I registered during the early registration period but DO NOT receive a space in the Meeting Place?
10. Can I register after early registration ends?
11. Can I register over the phone or at the FotoFest office?
12. Is there a charge to submit a registration form?
13. How do I know if I received a space in the Meeting Place?
14. How much is the registration fee? What does the fee include?
15. When is payment due?
16. What payment options does FotoFest accept?
17. Where do I send checks to?
18. Who are the reviewers in each session?
19. How long does each individual review session last?
20. How many appointments am I guaranteed in each session?
21. How are my review appointments scheduled?
22. What if I receive an appointment with a reviewer I do not want to meet with?
23. What is the cancellation policy for Meeting Place registrants?
24. Can I sell my space to someone else to avoid the processing fee?

^back to top

1. What is the International Meeting Place Portfolio Review?

The Meeting Place Portfolio Review is a 14-day program where photographic artists, arts professionals, collectors, and colleagues can network, collaborate, and share ideas. Through one-on-one meetings, workshops, lectures, and symposia, the Meeting Place connects 450 photographic artists with over 150 of the most important national and international curators, publishers, gallerists, and photography industry leaders, facilitating the establishment of life-long relationships and providing artists with tangible career opportunities.

^back to top

2. Where is the Meeting Place held?

Omni Hotel Houston
Four Riverway
Houston, TX 77056

https://www.omnihotels.com/hotels/houston

^back to top

3. What are the dates of the Meeting Place?

The Meeting Place occurs over 14 days, from March 10 — 23, 2018.

The program is organized into three 4-day sessions:

Session 1: March 10 — March 13, 2018
Session 2: March 15 — March 18, 2018
Session 3: March 20 — March 23, 2018
^back to top


4. What happens on the days between sessions?

Between each Portfolio Review session are “break days” (March 14 and March 19) where workshops, lectures, and symposia take place.
The dates and details of these specific events will be announced at a later date.

^back to top

5. Who is eligible to register for the Meeting Place Portfolio Review?

The Meeting Place Portfolio Review is open to all photographic artists, and is not pre-juried.

^back to top

6. When can I register for the Meeting Place Portfolio Review?

Early Registration begins at 12am CT / 5am GMT on June 26, 2017, and is open until 12:00 midnight on July 31, 2017.

^back to top

7. How many sessions can I register for?

Artists may register for up to two sessions. FotoFest will accommodate as many session preferences as possible, however be aware that FotoFest cannot guarantee ALL preferences, as space is limited.

^back to top

8. What happens after July 31, 2017?

Early registration closes at midnight on July 31, 2017. Please note that early registration does not guarantee you a spot at the Meeting Place.

All artists who submit a form during the Early Registration period (June 26—July 31, 2017) have an equal opportunity of receiving a space in the Meeting Place, regardless of the time and date submitted. If the number of registrations exceeds available space, a lottery will be held on August 1, 2017, to determine which registrants will receive a spot.

Due to high demand on the last day of early registration (July 31, 2017), FotoFest STRONGLY encourages artists to register as early as possible to avoid any service interruptions on the FotoFest website.

^back to top

9. What if I registered during the early registration period but DO NOT receive a space in the Meeting Place?

Applicants who submit their registration form within the Early Registration period but DO NOT receive a space at the Meeting Place will be automatically placed at the top of the waiting list, in the order they are received.

^back to top

10. Can I register after early registration ends?

Yes, you may still register after early registration ends.

Registrations received after the Early Registration period (after July 31, 2017) will be placed on the waiting list in the order in which they are received.

^back to top

11. Can I register over the phone or at the FotoFest office?

Only online registrations completed using the online registration form will be accepted. No telephone, fax, or walk-in registrations accepted.

^back to top

12. Is there a charge to submit a registration form?

There is no charge to submit a registration form.

^back to top

13. How do I know if I received a space in the Meeting Place?

FotoFest will notify all applicants who registered during the early registration period after August 5, 2017.

^back to top

14. How much is the registration fee? What does the fee include?

The fee to participate in one session of the Meeting Place is $975. The registration fee includes the following:

• Minimum of 16 individual portfolio reviews during a 4-day session
• Reserved space to participate in the Evenings with the Artists - Open Portfolio Nights, an opportunity to show your portfolio to the general public, other participating artists, additionalreviewers, and local, national, and international collectors
• Inclusion in the Meeting Place Registrant Catalogue given to all reviewers for each session; all participating artists are represented with an image of their work and contact information
• Free access to FotoFest Biennial exhibitions, curator-artist dialogues, seminars, and conferences
• Opportunities for informal reviews with roving reviewers
• Networking opportunities with fellow artists
• Discounted workshop registration

^back to top

15. When is payment due?

Payment is due after your space in the Meeting Place has been confirmed. If payment is not received in a timely manner, FotoFest reserves the right to remove you from the registered list and offer your space to the next person on the waiting list.

^back to top

16. What payment options does FotoFest accept?

FotoFest accepts PayPal, major Credit Cards, or payment by check. Checks should be made out to “FotoFest”.

Once your payment has been processed, you will be emailed a payment and registration confirmation.

^back to top

17. Where do I send checks to?

Checks made out to "FotoFest" should be sent to the following address:

FotoFest International
Attn: Meeting Place
2000 Edwards Street
Bldg. C, Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77007

^back to top

18. Who are the reviewers in each session?

Reviewers at the 2018 Meeting Place include important national and international curators, publishers, gallerists, and photography industry leaders who provide tangible career opportunities.

These individuals are being actively invited to review at the Meeting Place. Please note that the reviewer lists are subject to change and are frequently updated.

Session 1: March 10 — March 13, 2018
Session 2: March 15 — March 18, 2018
Session 3: March 20 — March 23, 2018

^back to top

19. How long does each individual review session last?

Each appointment lasts 20 minutes.

^back to top

20. How many appointments am I guaranteed in each session?

Registered artists are guaranteed a MINIMUM of four one-on-one formal review appointments per day—a guaranteed minimum of 16 appointments per session.  

^back to top

21. How do I schedule an appointment with a reviewer?

FotoFest will send you a preference form in mid-February, 2018, where you will be able to rank your most preferred reviewers. These preferences are run through a scheduling software that assigns appointments based on your top preferences.

This program is not based on a first come/first serve basis. FotoFest can NOT guarantee that you will receive all of your top preferences.

^back to top

22. What if I receive an appointment with a reviewer I do not want to meet with?

There will be a reviewer exchange board where you will be able to trade appointments with other artists.

^back to top

23. What is the cancellation policy for Meeting Place registrants?

Before December 1, 2017 - FotoFest provides a full refund minus a $100 administrative fee.
After December 1, 2017 - If FotoFest is able to sell the space to someone on the waiting list, a full refund minus a $150 administrative fee will be issued.
After February 1, 2018 - FotoFest will NOT accept any cancellations nor provide refunds.

^back to top

24. Can I sell my space to someone else to avoid the processing fee?

The Meeting Place Registration is NON-TRANSFERABLE. FotoFest will not honor registrations that are sold or traded between registrants.

FotoFest will offer cancelled registrations to individuals on the Meeting Place waiting list.

^back to top

For more information please contact Sarah Ansell, Meeting Place Associate, at meeting2@fotofest.org or call 713-223-5522 ext. 13.

The best way to receive news and information on the FotoFest 2018 Biennial, the 2018 Meeting Place, and Inter-Biennial exhibitions is by joining the FotoFest Email List.

Back to top