Skip to content

2017 Exhibitions

Bucky Miller, Person, 2016. From the series Canine Fields. Courtesy of the artist
FotoFest International and the Houston Center for Photography (HCP) present re/thinking photography, an exhibition highlighting contemporary conceptual photography in Texas.
re/thinking photography, opens October 20, 2017 at FotoFest, and the following Friday, October 27, 2017, at Houston Center for Photography. It is the seventh exhibition in the Texas Series, a biennial survey of Texas artists initiated by FotoFest in 2004, and co-produced with HCP since 2009.
re/thinking photography is a single exhibition split between the two venues; FotoFest, at their Washington Avenue Arts District venue at Silver Street Studios, 2000 Edwards Street; and Houston Center for Photography’s Museum District location, 1441 West Alabama Street, adjacent to the Menil Collection.
Featuring 18 artists, the exhibition presents a distinct view of contemporary art photography, installation and new media art from emerging and established artists. Selected by the creative teams of both organizations, the roster of artists represents the most diverse group since the beginning of the series. 


Bennie Flores Ansell (Houston)
Kalee Appleton (Dallas)
Drew Bacon (Houston)
Rabéa Ballin (Houston)
Rachel Cox (Dallas)
Joe Harjo (San Antonio)
Rosine Kouamen (Houston)
Peter Leighton (Austin)
MANUAL [Suzanne Bloom & Ed Hill] (Houston)
Mark Menjivar (San Antonio)
Bucky Miller (Austin)
Emily Peacock (Houston)
Molly Shigemoto (Dallas)
Sherwin Rivera Tibayan (Austin)
Kevin Todora (Dallas)
Nick Vaughan & Jake Margolin (Houston)

MANUAL, Monet, 2013. From The Book Project. Courtesy of the artists and Moody Gallery, Houston

October 20 - November 25, 2017
Silver Street Studios, 2000 Edwards Street, Houston, TX 77007
Wednesday - Saturday: 11am - 5pm
October 27 - December 3, 2017
1441 West Alabama, Houston, TX 77006
Wednesday - Thursday: 11am - 9pm
Friday: 11am-5pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11am - 7pm

Friday, October 20, 6-8pm
Artists Reception at FotoFest International
with artists Bennie Flores Ansell, Kalee Appleton, Drew Bacon, Rabéa Ballin, Joe Harjo, Rosine Kouamen, Peter Leighton, MANUAL, Mark Menjivar, Kevin Todora, and Nick Vaughan & Jake Margolin
Saturday, October 21, 2pm
Saturday Matinee Artist Talks at FotoFest International
with artists Bennie Flores Ansell, Kalee Appleton, Drew Bacon, Rabéa Ballin, Joe Harjo, Rosine Kouamen, Peter Leighton, MANUAL, Mark Menjivar, Kevin Todora, and Nick Vaughan & Jake Margolin
Friday, October 27, 5:30-8pm
Artists Reception at Houston Center for Photography
with artists Kalee Appleton, Rabéa Ballin, Rachel Cox, MANUAL, Bucky Miller, Emily Peacock, Molly Shigemoto, and Sherwin Rivera Tibayan

Rabéa Ballin, Amasunzu (Hip-Hop gains a classic), 2017.
Courtesy of the artist

Nick Vaughan and Jake Margolin, the Wagon Wheel, 2015. Courtesy of the artists

Houston Endowment Inc.; The Brown Foundation, Inc.; City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance; National Endowment for the Arts; Phillip and Edith Leonian Foundation; The Wortham Foundation; Texas Commission on the Arts; The Powell Foundation; Judith and Gamble Baldwin; David and Allison Ayers; FotoFest Board of Directors; Foundation for a Civil Society, Initiative for Culture and Society in Cuba; Foster LLP; Silver Street Studios; Hexagroup; Iland Internet Solutions; Saint Arnold Brewing Company; Julie and Andrew Alexander; Edward and Chinui Allen; Arlene Alligood; Kenneth Anderson and Andreanne Vachon; Bill Arning and Mark McCray; Lee Anthony and J Travis Capps Jr; Kath and Jorge Blanco; Michael and Katy Casey; Jereann Chaney; Anne and Albert Chao; Jenny and Allen Craig; Rania and Jamal Daniel; Mohammed and Annick Dekiouk; Steven Evans and David Klonkowski; Rashed Haq and Tayyba Kanwal; Carola and John Herrin; Carol Kazmer Liffman; James Edward Maloney; Guillermo Nicholas; Edouard Philippe and Marta Sánchez Philippe; Gregory and Lisa Spier; Joelle Verstraeten and Geoffroy Petit; Veronique Prentice; Eliane Thweatt; Wendy Watriss and Frederick Baldwin; and generous donors to the FotoFest Annual Fund.

Additional support in memory of James C. Kempner provided by: Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Kempner, III; Mr. and Mrs. Thomas R. Kelsey; and Mr. Dunham Jewett.



The Phillip and Edith Leonian Foundation; The Brown Foundation; the City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance; Houston Endowment; Maconda Abinader; Julie and Drew Alexander; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Chinhui and Eddie Allen; Elizabeth and Dave Anders; Artists’ Framing Resource; Laura and Tom Bacon; Cara and Jorge Barer; Mary and Marcel Barone; Patrica J. Eifel and Jim Belli; The Beth Block Foundation; Gay Block; Buffalo Bayou Brewing Company; Brittany and Travis Cassin; Jereann Chaney; John D. Chaney; Susan and Patrick Cook; Annick and Mohammed Dekiouk; Bevin and Dan Dubrowski; Krista and Mike Dumas; James R. Fisher; Marybeth and Tom Flaherty; ExxonMobil Foundation; Eleanor and Frank Freed Foundation; Catherine Couturier Gallery; Susana Monteverde and William Grimsinger; Keith Guerrini; Rashed Haq; HEB Tournament of Champions; Betty Pecore and Howard Hilliard; Wendy and Mavis Kelsey, Jr.; Frazier King; Barbara and Geoffrey Koslov; Cathy Hodge and Leonard Kowitz; Bryn Larsen; Larson-Juhl; Anne Levy Fund; Carol Kazmer Liffman; James E. Maloney; Nena Marsh; Mickey and Mike Marvins; Poppi Massey; Libbie J. Masterson; Martha and David Moore; Sara Morgan; Joan Morgenstern; Fan and Peter Morris; Celia and Jay Munisteri; Meg King Murray; J. Andrew Nairn; Shelley Calton and Stuart Nelson; Madeline Yale and Craig Preston; Alice Kleberg Reynolds Foundation; The Robertson-Finley Foundation; Becky Roof; Alison Rossiter; Schlumberger; Sue and Bob Schwartz; Paul Smead; Mike S. Stude; Texas Commission on the Arts; Laura and Todd Torgerson; Joel Towner; Lou Vest; Bill Walterman; Whole Foods Market; The Joan Hohlt and Roger Wich Foundation; Clint Willour; The Wortham Foundation; and the Erla and Harry Zuber Fund
Back to top